WAFFP / Luedecke Endowed Scholarship at W.S.U.


Consider this Fund

The WAFFP organization, the Luedecke family and numerous donors have grown this fund so it now provides $2200-$2400 (depending on market conditions) in scholarships annually. When you’re reviewing your charitable giving or memorial gifts you can easily give to the WAFFP/Luedecke Endowed Scholarship and help provide even more. All gifts are tax deductible.

How to Give

Please give to the endowment on-line at or please make your checks payable to WSU. Then send them to: Office of Alumni and Friends, College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences, Washington State University, PO Box 646228, Pullman WA 99164-6228. Please note the gift is for the WAFFP/Luedecke Endowed Scholarship (account 7222-8255). The WSU Foundation provides your tax deductible receipt.

Purpose and Eligibility

The scholarships provided are intended to encourage young men and women to become professionals in the food industry. Those persons considered eligible for the WAFFP/Luedecke Scholarship shall be a junior or senior majoring in Food Science, who have demonstrated interest in the food industry as has been shown by course work and/or work experience. Further, the eligible recipient(s) must be outstanding individuals in terms of academic achievement, leadership, character, campus activities, and departmental activities. The eligible recipient(s) must also be a citizen or a legal resident of the United States.


The Washington Association for Food Protection (WAFFP) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting food safety through education, technology and collaboration. Originally known as the “Washington Milk Sanitarians”, the organization became an affiliate of what is now known as the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) in 1951. WAFFP invites all food safety-related professionals to join in efforts to protect the food supply. WAFFP has been supporting students majoring in food science through the distribution of scholarships since 1982.

Dr. Lloyd O. Luedecke was an active member of WAFFP for almost 50 years. He joined the Washington Milk Sanitarians in 1962, the same year he became a faculty member at Washington State University. Dr. Luedecke was honored many times during his career with excellence awards in teaching and advising. His students and advisees genuinely loved him and trusted that he wanted only what was best for them. During the years that he was a member of the Milk Sanitarians (which became the Washington Milk, Food & Environmental Association, which later became WAFFP), Dr. Luedecke held many positions of leadership. In 1999, Dr. Luedecke was recognized by WAFFP for his life-long achievements in food safety by inducting him into the “WAFFP Hall of Fame”. He was also recognized by the IAFP in 2000 and 2003 and held an Honorary Life Membership award. He was instrumental in the establishment of the endowed scholarship that has benefited dozens of students in the field of food science. Through his encouragement, guidance, and dedication to educating our future food scientists, many of his students have become leaders within the food industry. Upon his death on June 4, 2014, the scholarship was renamed to honor his memory as a trusted friend, educator, mentor, and beloved colleague.

WAFFP scholarship recipients over the years.
2008: Patrice Ann-Marie Lyon, Christina Ruth Martin
2009: Erin Gail King, Patrice Ann-Marie Lyon
2010: Mikaela Easter, Karin Thorsen
2011: Matt Allen, Karin Thorsen
2012: Stephanie McCauley, Kate Sweitzer
2013: Hannah Damiano, Samantha Young
2014: Ashley Brennan, Kristen Sparkman, Samantha Young
2015: Katie Waldo, Caleb Wiebe
2016: Mathew Tanoei-Husada
2017: John Johnson, Max Kenagy
2018: Zach Newland, Tien-Hsun Yang
2019: Paige Kershaw, Kiera Henderson
2021: Jessica Grande Melocoton, Jacob Cleary

Your 2021 scholarship winners : Jessica Grande Melocoton, Jacob Cleary